Not a clickable imagemap


Page Buttons

Click on numbered list for contact info, links about tribe. Rio Grande pueblos are next to the detail map, below.

  1. Ute Mountain Ute Tribe
  2. Southern Ute Tribe*
  3. Jicarilla Apache Tribe
  4. Mescalero Apache Tribe
  5. Pueblo of Zuni
  6. Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

Navajo tribe (Alamo, Canoncito, Ramah chapter parcels): See ARIZONA.

  1. Pueblo of Taos
  2. Pueblo of Picuris
  3. Pueblo of San Juan
  4. Pueblo of Santa Clara
  5. Pueblo of Nambe
  6. Pueblo of San Ildefonso
  7. Pueblo of Pajoaque
  8. Pueblo of Tesuque
  9. Pueblo of Cochiti
  10. Pueblo of Santo Domingo
  11. Pueblo of Jemez
  12. Pueblo of Zia
  13. Pueblo of Santa Ana
  14. Pueblo of San Felipe
  15. Pueblo of Sandia
  16. Pueblo of Isleta
  17. Pueblo of Laguna
  18. Pueblo of Acoma

  • Pueblo Cultural Center A table of contents leading to a page each on most of the New Mexico Pueblos, by Karen Strom.

  • Pueblo Tribes on Gaming -- northern New Mexico Pueblo tribes explain how they are using their casino revenues to provide jobs, improve lives, schooling, environmental cleanups

  • Pueblo revolt of 1680 history by Linda Brookover, has a link to short bio of Pope, who organized this most successful of Indian revolts against the white man.

  • NM Indian population by countieslarge map, shows percentages in each county


Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 26567
Albuquerque, NM 87125
P: 505/766-3754
F: 505/766-1964
Rob Baracker
[back to index]

Jicarilla Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 167
Dulce, NM 87528
P: 505/759-3951
F: 505/759-3948
Sherryl J. Vigil
[back to index]

Laguna Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 1448
Laguna, NM 87026
P: 505/552-6001
F: 505/552-7497
Arthur L. Blazer
[back to index]

Mescalero Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 189
Mescalero, NM 88340
P: 505/671-4423
F: 505/671-4215
Paul Brill (Acting)
[back to index]

Northern Pueblos Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 4269, Fairview Station
Espanola, NM 87533
P: 505/753-1400
F: 505/753-1404
Cameron Martinez (Acting)
[back to index]

Ramah Navajo Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Route 2, Box 14
Ramah, NM 87321
P: 505/775-3235
F: 505/775-3387
Lorene Dieguez
[back to index]

Southern Pueblos Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 1667
Albuquerque, NM 87103
P: 505/766-3021
F: 505/766-3023
Fred R. Lujan
[back to index]

Southern Ute Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 315
Ignacio, CO 81137
P: 970/563-4511
F: 970/563-9321
Tony Recker (Acting)
[back to index]

Ute Mountain Ute Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Towaoc, CO 81334
P: 970/565-8473
F: 970/565-8906
Charles Tate (Acting)
[back to index]

Zuni Agency
Bureau of Indian Affairs
P.O. Box 369
Zuni, NM 87327
P: 505/782-5591
F: 505/782-5715
Michael Hackett
[back to index]

Agency office is in parentheses at end of tribal contact info; officers are as BIA lists them, 12/15/96 -- elections may cause changes in names

Ronald Shutiva, Governor
Pueblo of Acoma
P.O. Box 309
Pueblo of Acoma, NM 87034
P: 505/552-6604
F: 505/552-6600
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]
  • Acoma Pueblo info [Gone] prepared by New Mexico Indian Gaming Association, info and pix supplied by the tribe.

  • Acoma Pueblo from Pueblo cultural center

Joseph C. Quintana, Governor
Pueblo of Cochiti
P.O. Box 70
Cochiti, NM 87072
P: 505/465-2244
F: 505/465-1135
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Alvino Lucero, Governor
Pueblo of Isleta
P.O. Box 1270
Isleta, NM 87022
P: 505/869-3111
F: 505/869-4236
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Randolph Padilla
Pueblo of Jemez
P.O. Box 100
Jemez Pueblo, NM 87024
P: 505/834-7359
F: 505/834-7331
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

  • The Jemez Pueblo -- from the Pueblo Cultural Center page

  • Jemez Pueblo, Quasho -- to Protect and Preserve -- interesting personal page by William Whatley, Pueblo of Jemez Preservation Officer, Tribal Archaeologist and Director of the Dept. of Natural Resources. Fact, fiction about jemez, law on NAGPRA, Jemez site preservation work of interest to other Native nations.

Leonard Atole, President
Jicarilla Apache Tribe
P.O. Box 507
Dulce, NM 87528
P: 505/759-3242
F: 505/759-3005
[back to index]

Roland E. Johnson, Governor
Pueblo of Laguna
P.O. Box 194
Laguna, NM 87026
P: 505/552-6654
F: 505/552-6941
[back to index]

Wendell Chino, President
Mescalero Apache Tribe
P.O. Box 176
Mescalero, NM 88340br> P: 505/671-4494
F: 505/671-9191
[back to index]

Lela Kaskalla, Governor
Pueblo of Nambe
Route 1, Box 117-BB
Santa Fe, NM 87501
P: 505/455-2036
F: 505/455-2038
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Gerald Nailor, Governor
Pueblo of Picuris
P.O. Box 127
Penasco, NM 87553
P: 505/587-2519
F: 505/587-1071
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Jacob Viarrial, Governor
Pueblo of Pojoaque
Route 11, Box 71
Santa Fe, NM 87501
P: 505/455-2278
F: 505/455-2950
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Alex Lujan, Governor
Pueblo of Sandia
P.O. Box 6008
Bernalillo, NM 87004
P: 505/867-3317
F: 505/867-9235
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Lawrence Troncosa, Governor
Pueblo of San Felipe
P.O. Box 4339
San Felipe, NM 87001
P: 505/867-3381
F: 505/867-3383
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Elmer C. Torres, Governor
Pueblo of San Ildefonso
Route 5, Box 315-A
Santa Fe, NM 87501
P: 505/455-2273
F: 505/455-7351
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Earl Salazar, Governor
Pueblo of San Juan
P.O. Box 1099
San Juan Pueblo, NM 87566
P: 505/852-4400
F: 505/852-4820
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Leonard D. Garcia, Governor
Pueblo of Santa Ana
2 Dove Road
Bernalillo, NM 87004
P: 505/867-3301
F: 505/867-3395
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Gilbert Tofoya, Governor
Pueblo of Santa Clara
P.O. Box 580
Espanola, NM 87532
P: 505/753-7330
F: 505/753-5375
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Vidal Aragon, Governor
Pueblo of Santo Domingo
P.O. Box 99
Santo Domingo, NM 87052
P: 505/465-2214
F: 505/465-2688
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Leonard C. Burch, Chairman
Southern Ute Tribe
P.O. Box 737
Ignacio, CO 81137
P: 303/563-0100
F: 303/563-0396
(Southern Ute)
[back to index]

Mike Concha, Governor
Pueblo of Taos
P.O. Box 1846
Taos, NM 87571
P: 505/758-9593
F: 505/758-4604
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Frederick Vigil, Governor
Pueblo of Tesuque
Route 5, Box 360-T
Santa Fe, NM 87501
P: 505/983-2667
F: 505/982-2331
(Northern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Judy Knight-Frank, Chairperson
Ute Mountain Ute Tribe
General Delivery
Towaoc, CO 81334
P: 970/565-3751
F: 970/565-7412
(Ute Mountain)
[back to index]
  • Ute Mountain Ute -- Brief statistical info, Office of Native American Programs, HUD

Elias Torres, Governor
Ysleta del Sur Pueblo
P.O. Box 17579, Ysleta Stn.
El Paso, TX 79917
P: 915/859-7913
F: 915/859-4240
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Stanley Pino, Governor
Pueblo of Zia
135 Capitol Square Drive
Zia Pueblo, NM 87053-6013
P: 505/867-3304
F: 505/867-3308
(Southern Pueblos)
[back to index]

Donald Eriacho, Governor
Pueblo of Zuni
P.O. Box 339
Zuni, NM 87327
P: 505/782-4481
F: 505/782-2700
[back to index]

TOP of

Text, maps and graphics copyright -- Paula Giese, 1996, 1997 except where elsewhere attributed.

CREDITS: Some information on tribes fronm BIA server; corrected using Veronica Tiller's "American Indian Reservations and Trust Areas," 1996.

Last Updated: 4/25/97/